Participating institutions

The Nuremberg Municipal Museums - Dürer holdings and digitization

In the course of the project, the extensive holdings by and after Albrecht Dürer from the of the Nuremberg Municipal Museums city of Nuremberg will be processed. The municipal art holdings include a collection of paintings and sculptures, an extensive collection of graphic art, and a collection of coins and medals. Under the former head of the Graphic Collection and deputy director of the Museums of the City of Nuremberg, Matthias Mende, the graphic complete works and the artistic afterlife of Dürer formed a focal point in terms of content.
It was Mende who published a 700-page Dürer bibliography for the 500th Dürer anniversary in 1971.
Today, the art collections often own not only one copy of individual Dürer prints, but several, which come from different collection contexts. The art collections are also among the largest lenders to the Germanisches Nationalmuseum (GNM) in Nuremberg. The GNM preserves prints by Dürer from their holdings as well as unique works, including a drawn coat of arms of Willibald Pirckheimer and the large-format ideal portraits of the emperors Charlemagne and Sigismund. In the course of the project, high-resolution digital copies of the Dürer holdings will be made and integrated into the digital infrastructure at Heidelberg University Library.

Albrecht Dürer House Foundation e.V. - Digitization of the Special Collection Dürer's Afterlife

The Albrecht Dürer House Foundation e.V., whose extensive library on Dürer's life and work as well as special collection on his artistic afterlife are maintained and administered by the Kunstsammlungen der Stadt Nürnberg, is a supporter of the project.
Since its foundation in the course of the celebrations of Dürer's 400th birthday in 1871, its main task has been to collect, preserve and communicate Dürer's life, work and influence.
The Albrecht Dürer House, which is now part of the Nuremberg Municipal Museums, played an important role in this from the very beginning. Until his death in 1528, the Nuremberg master lived and worked in the half-timbered house at Tiergärtnertor in Nuremberg, which he was able to buy thanks to his already comfortable position during his lifetime. As early as the beginning of the 19th century, it established itself as an artist's memorial, which subsequently received new impetus with each anniversary celebration. As early as 1826, the publisher and Dürer devotee Friedrich Campe (1777-1846) bought the legendary house for the city of Nuremberg in order to preserve it as a monument (cf. Campe 1828, p. 185). As early as the Dürer anniversary year of 1828, it served as an artists' museum and advanced to become a meeting place for his followers. In 1971, on the occasion of the 500th anniversary of the artist's birth, a modern exhibition building was erected there, which underwent a redesign in 2010, supported by the then 100-year-old Albrecht Dürer House Foundation e.V. in terms of content and funding. In the course of the duerer.online project, high-resolution digital copies of the foundation's holdings are being made and integrated into the digital infrastructure at Heidelberg University Library.

Heidelberg University Library - Technical Tools and Infrastructure

In the context of the specialized information service Art, Photography, Design - arthistoricum.net, which it operates, Heidelberg University Library is responsible not only for the digitization of historical book collections but also, among other things, for activities in the field of electronic publishing in open access and can look back on many years of experience in these areas. Thus, in addition to various platforms for the publication of e-journals, e-books or editions, possibilities for the sustainable archiving of multimedia research data for collaborative use are also available.
For duerer.online, the Scientific Communication Infrastructure (WissKI) is used. This is a virtual research environment that enables the development of applications in the field of digital humanities using current standards. In addition to a partially synoptic TEI-supported edition of the written estate, a core collection from Dürer's complete works and their afterlife will be documented as a data basis. The focus here is on the holdings of the project and cooperation partners Art Collections of the Nuremberg Municipal Museums, Albrecht Dürer House Foundation e.V., Germanischen Nationalmuseum (Nuremberg) and Albertina (Vienna), which are explicitly mentioned in the artist's written legacy.
The documentation and semantic indexing of the data is based on CIDOC CRM as a standard recognized ontology for cultural heritage (ISO 21127), using specialized thesauri as well as the Integrated Authority File (GND). The integration into arthistoricum.net, the specialized information service for art, design and photography at Heidelberg University Library, guarantees the connectivity and sustainability of the results.

Supporting Institutions

During the application process, various institutions and their staff already supported the development of the virtual research environment duerer.online and promised their expertise and the accessibility of their holdings.

Bamberg State Library
Nuremberg, Germanisches Nationalmuseum
Nuremberg, Stadtbibliothek im Bildungscampus
Vienna, Albertina
Zurich, University – SNF-Research Project "Hybride Zeiten – Temporale Dynamiken 1400–1600"

Beteiligte Institutionen

Museen der Stadt Nürnberg - Dürer-Bestände und Digitalisierung

Im Zuge des Projekts werden die umfangreichen Bestände von und nach Albrecht Dürer aus den Museen der Stadt Nürnberg bearbeitet. Der kommunale Kunstbesitz besteht unter anderem aus einer Gemälde- und Skulpturensammlung, einer umfangreichen Graphik-, und einer Münz- und Medaillensammlung. Unter dem früheren Leiter der Graphischen Sammlung und stellvertretenden Leiter der Museen der Stadt Nürnberg Matthias Mende formierte sich das graphische Gesamtwerk und das künstlerische Nachleben Dürers als ein inhaltlicher Schwerpunkt.
Mende war es auch, der zum 500. Dürer-Jubiläum im Jahr 1971 eine 700-Seiten starke Dürer-Bibliographie publizierte.
Heute besitzen die Kunstsammlungen oftmals nicht nur ein Exemplar der einzelnen Dürer-Graphiken, sondern gleich mehrere, die aus unterschiedlichen Sammlungszusammenhängen stammen. Die Kunstsammlungen gehören zudem zu den größten Leihgebern des Germanischen Nationalmuseums (GNM) in Nürnberg. Das GNM bewahrt sowohl druckgraphische Arbeiten Dürers aus ihren Beständen als auch unikale Werke, darunter ein gezeichnetes Wappen Willibald Pirckheimers sowie die großformatigen Idealbildnisse der Kaiser Karl d. Große und Sigismund. Im Zuge des Projekts werden hochauflösende Digitalisate der Dürer-Bestände angefertigt und in die digitale Infrastruktur an der UB Heidelberg eingebunden.

Albrecht-Dürer-Haus-Stiftung e.V. - Digitalisierung der Spezialsammlung Dürers Nachleben

Die Albrecht-Dürer-Haus-Stiftung e.V., deren umfangreiche Bibliothek zu Leben und Werk Dürers sowie Spezialsammlung zu seinem künstlerischen Nachleben von den Kunstsammlungen der Stadt Nürnberg betreut bzw. verwaltet werden, ist Unterstützerin des Projekts.
Seit ihrer Gründung im Zuge der Feierlichkeiten zu Dürers 400. Geburtstag im Jahr 1871 ist ihr das Sammeln, Bewahren und Vermitteln von Dürers Leben, Werk und Wirken Hauptaufgabe.
Das Albrecht-Dürer-Haus, das heute zu den Museen der Stadt Nürnberg gehört, spielte dabei von Anfang an eine wichtige Rolle. Bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1528 lebte und arbeitete der Nürnberger Meister in dem Fachwerkhaus am Tiergärtnertor in Nürnberg, das er sich dank seiner bereits zu Lebzeiten guten Stellung kaufen konnte. Schon im beginnenden 19. Jahrhundert etablierte es sich als Künstler-Gedenkstätte, die nachfolgend mit jeder Jubliläumsfeierlichkeit neue Impulse bekam. Bereits im Jahr 1826 kaufte der Verleger und Düreranhänger Friedrich Campe (1777–1846) das legendäre Haus für die Stadt Nürnberg, um es als Denkmal zu erhalten (vgl. Campe 1828, S. 185). Bereits zum Dürer-Jubiläumsjahr 1828 diente es als Künstlermuseum und avancierte zum Treffpunkt seiner Anhänger. 1971 entstand dort anlässlich des 500. Geburtstages des Künstlers ein moderner Ausstellungsbau, der 2010 eine Neukonzeption erfuhr, die von der damals 100jährigen Albrecht-Dürer-Haus-Stiftung e.V. inhaltlich und finanziell unterstützt wurde. Im Zuge des Projekts duerer.online werden hochauflösende Digitalisate der Stiftungsbestände angefertigt und in die digitale Infrastruktur an der UB Heidelberg eingebunden.

UB Heidelberg - Technische Tools und Infrastruktur

Die UB Heidelberg ist im Kontext des von ihr betriebenen Fachinformationsdienst Kunst, Fotografie, Design – arthistoricum.net, neben der Digitalisierung historischer Buchbestände u.a. für die Aktivitäten im Bereich des elektronischen Publizierens im Open Access verantwortlich und blickt auf eine langjährige Erfahrung in diesen Bereichen zurück. So stehen neben verschiedenen Plattformen zur Veröffentlichung von E-Journals, E-Books oder Editionen auch Möglichkeiten der nachhaltigen Archivierung multimedialer Forschungsdaten für die kollaborative Nutzung bereit.
Für duerer.online kommt die Wissenschaftliche Kommunikationsinfrastruktur (WissKI) zum Einsatz. Dabei handelt es sich um eine virtuelle Forschungsumgebung, die den Aufbau von Anwendungen im Bereich der Digital Humanities unter Nutzung aktueller Standards ermöglicht. Als Datengrundlage wird, neben einer – in Teilen synoptischen – TEIgestützten Edition des schriftlichen Nachlasses, ein Kernbestand aus dem Gesamtwerk Dürers und dessen Rezeption erfasst. Im Fokus stehen hierbei die Bestände der Projekt- bzw. Kooperationspartner Kunstsammlungen der Stadt Nürnberg, Albrecht-Dürer-Haus-Stiftung e.V., Germanisches Nationalmuseum (Nürnberg) und Albertina (Wien), die im schriftlichen Nachlass des Künstlers explizit genannt werden.
Die Erfassung und semantische Erschließung der Daten erfolgt auf Grundlage von CIDOC CRM als Standard anerkannte Ontologie für das kulturelle Erbe (ISO 21127), unter Nutzung von Fachthesauri sowie der Gemeinsamen Normdatei. Durch die Integration in arthistoricum.net, den an der UB Heidelberg angesiedelten Fachinformationsdienst Kunst, Design, Fotografie, wird die Anschlussfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit der erarbeiteten Ergebnisse garantiert.

Unterstützende Institutionen

Verschiedene Institutionen und ihre Mitarbeiter*innen haben bereits während der Antragstellung den Aufbau der virtuellen Forschungsumgebung duerer.online befürwortet, ihre Expertise und die Zugänglichmachung ihrer Bestände zugesagt.

Bamberg, Staatsbibliothek
Nürnberg, Germanisches Nationalmuseum
Nürnberg, Stadtbibliothek im Bildungscampus
Wien, Albertina
Zürich, Universität – SNF-Forschungsprojekt Hybride Zeiten – Temporale Dynamiken 1400–1600