User Instructions

First View

"First View" means that all contents and functions of the virtual research environment are work in progress. Not only will new data sets continue to be recorded, but existing ones will also be successively expanded and related to each other in terms of content.

Indexing

The approach's basic idea is to successively record those works that are mentioned in the artist's written legacy in order to digitally link them with the source writings, the secondary literature, but also other works of art, such as preliminary studies by Dürer's hand or copies made after his pictorial inventions. The transcriptions of the written sources are in progress.

As of spring 2022:

The focus in the first project phase (2020-2023) is on Dürer's prints. However, numerous unique works have already been documented. The cross-genre selection served as the basis for developing the structure of the database and the underlying application ontology of the virtual research environment. In order to condense the data, prints from various institutions were recorded together with details specific to each impression - initially from the holdings of the project partners Museums of the City of Nuremberg / Albrecht Dürer Haus-Stiftung e.V. as well as the digital offerings of selected collections internationally.

Citation note

Follows shortly.

Illustrations

Illustrations are not available for every work respectively impression.
If we do not have any images available, we link to the presentation of the institution holding the respective print.

Search tips

Works
The page "Works" offers an introduction to all works recorded so far.
The results can be adjusted via a full text search and the filter function "Objekttyp".

Browsen
Browsing provides an overview of the categories "Works", "Sources", "Literature", "Persons" and "Institutions" using an alphabetical list.
The results can be adjusted via a full text search.

Suche
A full-text search can be used to search the data records.
After entering a search term, the results can be narrowed down to the following categories in a first step: "Ausführung (Exemplare)", "Institution", "Literatur", "Person", "Quelle", "Verkaufsereignis" and "Werk". Once one of the categories has been selected, the results can be narrowed down using further filter criteria.

Planned until 2023

Both contents and the technical and visual implementation will be further developed during the project. This includes, among other things:

  • the documentation of works of art, textual sources, persons, institutions/collections, sales events etc.
  • versioning and ensuring citability of the data sets
  • optimisation of the search functions and the visual user interface
  • transcriptions and TEI-supported mark-up of the sources and their publication (incl. the transcription guidelines)
  • the integration of an IIIF viewer.

Nutzungshinweise

First View

„First View“ bedeutet, dass alle Inhalte und Funktionen der virtuellen Forschungsumgebung Work in Progress sind. Es werden nicht nur weiter laufend neue Datensätze erfasst, auch bereits bestehende werden sukzessive erweitert und inhaltlich miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt.

Erschließung

Grundidee des Vorgehens ist es, schrittweise diejenigen Werke zu erschießen, die im schriftlichen Nachlass des Künstlers genannt sind, um sie digital mit den Quellenschriften, der Sekundärliteratur, aber auch weiteren Kunstwerken, wie Vorstudien von Dürers Hand oder Kopien nach seinen Bilderfindungen, in Bezug zu setzen. Die Transkriptionen und Auszeichnung der schriftlichen Quellen sind in Arbeit.

Stand Frühjahr 2022:

Der Schwerpunkt in der ersten Projektphase (2020–2023) liegt auf der Druckgraphik Dürers. Doch wurden ebenfalls bereits zahlreiche Unikate dokumentiert. Die gattungsübergreifende Auswahl diente als Basis, um die in Struktur der Datenbank und die der virtuellen Forschungsumgebung zugrundeliegende Anwendungsontologie zu erarbeiten. Zur Verdichtung wurden Abzüge verschiedener Institutionen samt exemplarspezifischer Details erfasst – zunächst aus den Beständen der Projektpartner Museen der Stadt Nürnberg / Albrecht Dürer Haus-Stiftung e.V. sowie den digitalen Angeboten ausgewählter Sammlungen international.

Zitierhinweis

Folgt in Kürze.

Abbildungen

Nicht zu jedem Werk bzw. Ausführungen/Exemplare liegen Abbildungen vor.
Wenn uns keine Abbildungen vorliegen, wird auf die Präsentation der das jeweilige Exemplar verwahrenden Institution verlinkt.

Suchhinweise

Werke
Die Seite „Werke“ bietet einen Einstieg in alle bisher erfassten Werke.
Über eine Volltextsuche und die Filterfunktion „Objekttyp“ können die Ergebnisse angepasst werden.

Browsen
Über den Einstieg Browsen ist ein Überblick über die Kategorien “Werke“, „Quellen“, „Literatur“, „Personen“ und „Institutionen“ anhand einer alphabetischen Liste möglich.
Über eine Volltextsuche können die Ergebnisse angepasst werden.

Suche
Über die Suche kann über eine Volltextsuche in den Datensätzen recherchiert werden.
Nachdem ein Suchbegriff eingegeben wurde, können die Ergebnisse in einem ersten Schritt auf folgende Kategorien eingegrenzt werden: Ausführung (Exemplare), Institution, Literatur, Person, Quelle, Verkaufsereignis und Werk. Wenn eine der Kategorien ausgewählt wurde, lassen sich die Trefferergebnisse anhand weiterer Filterkriterien einschränken.

Geplant bis 2023

Sowohl die inhaltliche Erschließung als auch die technische und visuelle Umsetzung wird während der Projektlaufzeit verdichtet und weiterentwickelt. Hierzu gehört unter anderem:

  • das Erstellen wissenschaftlicher Aufnahmen von Kunstwerken, Textquellen, Personen, Institutionen/ Sammlungen, Verkaufsereignissen o.ä.
  • das Erstellen von Transkriptionen und TEI-gestützte Auszeichnung der Quellenschriften und deren Veröffentlichung (inkl. der Transkriptionsrichtlinien)
  • die Versionierung der Einträge und die Gewährleistung ihrer Zitierfähigkeit
  • die Optimierung der Suchfunktionen und der visuellen Benutzer*innenführung
  • die Integration eines IIIF-Viewers